Trajectories of convergence II: Bieber and Intellectual property.

“JUSTIN BIEBER SUED FOR COPYRIGHT INFRINGEMENT OVER HIT SONG ‘SORRY’”

What does it mean when talking about the Intellectual property: well according to google it refers to intangible property that is the result of creativity, such as patents, copyrights, etc. I recently read an article about how we’ve gotten used to dismissing our appropriating ways by saying that imitation is the sincerest form of flattery. So basically, what peopl18600811_10213195815550290_421897231_n.gife are saying is that, hey you put all this hard work in, I want to do basically the something as you, but you do all the work, and I’ll take the credit okay thanks, bye. This reminds me of when I was doing my creative arts degree, it was in the last semester and I had a classmate who as it turned out got a lot of credit for these what I believed to be beautiful works turns out these art pieces didn’t come from her. Merely I produce of someone else’s hard work.

Borrowing phrases, taking credit is not always the best idea, I meant it’s not like you post a tweet or Facebook status about your feels by post a Virgina Woolf quote. For example, Justin Bieber’s “Sorry” , many suggested was a publicly apologise of sorts for this poor actions in recent times. So yes it was pretty ironic that he was hit with a copyright infringement lawsuit over this song, along with Skrillex who produced the track. The singer-songwriter White Hinterland accused the singer by stating that the memorable opening from “Sorry” was stolen from her 2014 song “Ring the Bell.”  “The identical and/or striking similarity of ‘Sorry’ to Plaintiff’s song ‘Ring the Bell’ surpasses the realm of generic coincidence and independent creation.”

Reference:

http://time.com/4350203/bieber-skrillex-sorry-white-hinterland-ring-the-bell/

https://consequenceofsound.net/2016/05/10-famous-instances-of-alleged-music-plagiarism/

One thought on “Trajectories of convergence II: Bieber and Intellectual property.

  1. Hey! I really enjoyed reading your blog! It was extremely informing and interesting. I personally didn’t know this even happened to Justin Bieber so I was really engaged whilst reading this blog post. I loved when you said ” best idea, I meant it’s not like you post a tweet or Facebook status about your feels by post a Virgina Woolf quote.” It was a really funny way to put the idea of copyright. The only thing I can say is maybe to include some memes or gifs to further engage within in your blog but overall you did a really good job! I wrote mine on the Apple Music feud with Taylor swift, you should check it out https://rileyedenblog.wordpress.com/2017/04/30/the-symbol-that-gets-ignored/ 🙂 x

    Like

Leave a Reply

