Always the People’s Princess

a0cd9a2bf090f49dd850dd4b3dc38096--princess-diana-dead-princess-of-wales.jpgAfter interviewing my nana, the following week we had open discussions within the tutorial. I found that a lot of our earliest memories with the Television are fairly similar which is not surprising given that we are all fairly close in age. And like many others in my class when asked what my most prominent memory of the Television. The first thing that came to my mind was 9/11 the terrorist attacks by the Islamic terrorist group al-Qaeda on the United States on September 11, 2001, I was 9 years old. I realised pretty quick that this was a prominent memory for the large majority of my tutorial. From here I tried to remember something else, something different. And then it came to me 31 August 1997 the day Princess Diana died, I was 5 years old.

Princess Diana died as a result of injuries sustained in a car crash in the Pont de l’Alma road tunnel in Paris, France. I remember sitting on our living room floor playing with my little brother and looking up to see the News headlines Diana Dead, obviously, I am 5 years olds so I am not exactly sure what was happening. I remember turning to my mum and my Nan and they were in complete shock and disbelief.  And from what I can recall it was a time of mourning for a lot of the people around me.  I remember when I was much old I had a conversation my Nana about Princess Diana, and my Nana being the proud British woman that she is could not stop praising the Princess and the Royals, she got so much joy out of talking about the Royals.  As a Chief she often works late hours, it so wasn’t until much later in the day when she came home to the night News to find out about the Princesses Death, she remembers feeling shock and heartbroken particularly for her young children who had just lost their Mother.

Strengths and Weaknesses of Research Methods:

There is a wide range of research Methods that we can use to source information and it is dependent on what exactly it is that we are going to do with the information. Methods also vary by whether they collect qualitative data, quantitative data or both.  I have found the interviews and open discussions can be equally as effective but both have varies qualities. While interviewing a person one on one you are able to get more open/person about the topic, as well as seeing how they react both verbally and physically which is extremely effective and useful. Also, what is great about group discussions such as the ones had in tutorials is that often individuals feed off each other’s thoughts and memories which helps them engage with the material and have a broad and stimulation discussion from varies angles.

From my perspective, negative traits of a one on one interview is that you are only obtaining reflections from on individual and that is it, and it can in sense be that and you have nowhere to take it or progress with the information.  I find that group discussions can be a tad overwhelming.  You can get listed in the conversation and all of a sudden your hour in and instead of talking about television audiences you are discussing the latest episode of Game of Thrones and spoilers.

References:

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

